why I remain LOST

I am one of those tv people who gets hooked on a serialized show and just doesn’t know when to get out. Just when I think I’ve begun to not care about the characters or the stories any longer, somehow the writers give me just enough to stay tuned. Such is my dilemma with Lost.

When we first tuned in to the show in 2004, I don’t think any of us quite knew what we were going to be in for during the next years. And, unfortunately, what began as compelling television with fascinating characters and enough mystery to fill a ten-year arc has fallen into drudgery and sometimes too many stories to warrant the drama. Interestingly, this year’s season has fascinated me not for the original mysteries but for the new stories that have been introduced. But even this fascination has been fleeting. I found myself extremely curious about some of The Others (Juliet, in particular), and I found that my interest had waned for the original castaways (specifically, Kate and Jack). Yet this, strangely, is the reason I remain a weekly viewer.

Season 3 has been an interesting one to watch, not for the original characters or any attempt by the producers to satisfy the curiosities set up in the beginning of the series, but rather for the expansion of stories and characters. I’m as sick as anyone of Ben and his supposed power, and the explanation of that power (the murder of his own team members) did nothing more than clear up that one point. But the story of The Others, the reasons they are on the island, their attempts to create home and family, their ethical dilemmas have kept me anchored to the series. Were these stories the primary focus in seasons to come, I would not be interested enough to stay with it, but their inclusion in this mostly dull season 3 has been a welcome diversion. And I believe this was a genius stroke by the producers and writers.

Having some time away from the original castaways, having less focus on their already explored histories, gave me time to step back from the mythology. And then, in the season’s finale when a Jack story was given center stage and revealed to be a future story, it suddenly felt fresh and exciting… just like the first season felt. My own theory is that we may begin to see more “future stories” of the castaways’ lives after their rescue. I think Jack’s decision to call for the supposed rescue ship will prove to be the catalyst for every single moment that happens from now on. And that excites me! That gives me hope for the future of the series, and it makes me want to know what happens next. It will keep me coming back to the series for another season, and probably another and another until it ends in 2010. I can’t say I have faith in the producers, but I can say they have intrigued me, and sometimes that’s really all it takes to keep me faithful to a series.

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 29 May 2007, in What I Watch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

