Summer Movie Plan 2007

I’m sure it’s no surprise that I am a subscriber to Entertainment Weekly, and this past week they published my favorite issue of the year: Summer Movie Preview. This one issue guides most all of my activities for the next four months as I attempt to see all of the popcorn flicks and usually an occasional indie. I generally don’t get through them all, but I make every attempt. By summer’s end, I’m bleary-eyed but oh-so-happy. Imagine my surprise to find that this summer, despite major sequel-itis, the offerings are a little slim. Maybe I’m showing my age, or maybe movies just aren’t what they used to be. That doesn’t mean there are not a host of highly anticipated flicks, of course. It does mean that I might actually accomplish the plan this year.

May

  • Spider-Man 3
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
  • Lucky You
  • Waitress – it’s Felicity and Captain Mal. Of course I’m seeing this one!
  • June

  • Ocean’s Thirteen
  • Live Free or Die Hard
  • Ratatouille
  • Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer – scoff if you want to, but I will see Ioan Gruffudd in practically anything. I won’t apologize for it, and besides, it’s summer. This is exactly the fluff we’re intended to see.
  • July

  • TransformersShia LeBeouf and a little Sucre in the off-season. I may need the rest of July just to come to terms with the fact that I’m going to pay money to see this. 😮
  • August

  • The Bourne Ultimatum
  • Becoming Jane – I’ll totally need some downtime after Bourne.
  • For these, I’ll hold out for DVD:

  • The Ex – love Zach Braff, but he’s just not a big-screen guy for me.
  • A Mighty Heart – When Angelina Jolie acts, girl can bring it. Still, these are the kinds of movies I have to sit with a while, so home viewing is my only real option for this one.
  • Mr. Brooks – Kevin Costner in a creep-out role? I can’t do that in a dark theater.
  • Gracie – I’ve been a fan of Elisabeth Shue since her Babysitting days, and this one’s based on her own life, so how it can it go wrong?
  • I Know Who Killed Me – yeah yeah, it’s Lindsay Lohan, but that will not deter me. I get very few opportunities with Neal McDonough, and if there’s any chance he’s the big bad in this one, all the better.
  • No Reservations – This seems tailor-made for the small screen, if you ask me.
  • Rescue Dawn – Christian Bale. That’s enough, but I’ll need time to prepare myself for this material.
  • Stardust – something appeals to me, although I’m not yet sure what it is.
  • The Hottest State – I’m a sucker for any movie made from a book I’ve already read.
  • Advertisements

    About Jules Q

    sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

    Posted on 29 April 2007, in What I Watch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

    Share Your Thoughts!

