New Discovery: Patrick Wilson

One of the great joys in being a film fan is discovering “new” actors. The newest discovery is Patrick Wilson, whom I saw in the role of Lt. Col. William Travis in The Alamo. Even with all of the star power in the movie, this new face shone above the likes of Dennis Quaid and Jason Patric, both of whom I really like. Though not overly attractive or phenomenally talented, Patrick Wilson nevertheless charmed me in this role and made me want to know more about the man behind the character. He brought a fantastic vulnerability to the role, and that really intrigued me.

There is little information on IMDB about this actor, but I gather that he’s been successful in musical theater prior to this big debut. Fortunately, he is next appearing in the film version of Phantom of the Opera, so I’ll be able to experience him in his tried and tested skin. A real treat for me! While I was curious about the Phantom feature, I am now greatly anticipating its release based solely on this newfound interest. This is why I love movies!

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 20 July 2004, in What I Watch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

